2019 New York Penn. League Champions: The Brooklyn Cyclones

Former Mets star Edgardo Alfonzo managed the 2019 Brooklyn Cyclones to a New York Penn. League Championship. His coaching staff included former Met, Endy Chavez. 

After maintaining just above .500 into August, they won key games against Staten Island, Aberdeen & Hudson Valley to get into the playoffs for the first time in seven years. 

In their first 14 years of baseball, the Cyclones posted winning records. In 2001 they were co champions with the Williamsport Crosscutters. 

The final championship game was to be played on September 11th, but the game was canceled due to the 911 terrorist attacks. They would those three times in the final championship round & five times in the first round, making the playoffs nine times in thier nineteen seasons.

2019 First Round Playoff: In 2019 they defeated the Hudson Valley Renegades, affiliate of the Tampa Bay Rays, two games to one in the first round of the playoffs.  In Game #2, Nathan Jones, Matthew Allan & Corey Gaconi pitched a combined no hitter into the 8th inning. 

The scoring was highlighted by a rehabbing Jed Lowrie who hit a HR putting the Cyclones ahead. In the final game the score was tied 3-3 into the 9th inning when Randy Adon doubled home Yoel Romero for the winning run.

2019 Championship Series: In the Championship the Cyclones took on the Lowell Spinner, affiliate of the Boston Red Sox. In Game #1, pitcher Garrison Bryant threw six scoreless innings & the bullpen held on for a 2-1 win. 

In Game #2 Long Island native, Frank Valentino couldn't shut down Lowell & took the loss.

In Game #3 the Cyclones jumped to a 2-0 lead, but Lowell tied it in the 3rd inning. After falling behind in the 7th, the Cyclones tied it again in the bottom of the 7th. 

In the 8th Antoine Duplantis, tripled in the winning run. The Spinners loaded the bases in the 9th but Andrew Edwards held on striking out pinch hitter, Alex Erro. The Cyclones were the 2019 Champions.

Trivia: The Cyclones became the first team since the 1955 Brooklyn Dodgers to win a Championship in that borough.


Popular posts from this blog

Former Mets Broadcaster: Fran Healy ( 1984-2005)

Remembering Mets History: (1977) The Felix Millan / Ed Ott Brawl In Pittsburgh

Remembering Bobby Ojeda's Tragic Boating Accident (1993)

The 1970's Oakland A's Ball Girls- (MLB's First)

Remembering Vixen Founder / Guitarist; Jan Kuehnemund (1961-2013)