Nov 15, 2018

Jacob deGrom's Wins the 2018 Cy Young Award

Jacob deGrom closed out 2018 with one of the Mets best pitching seasons since the days of Dwight Gooden & Tom Seaver.

deGrom finished with a NL leading ERA of 1.70 putting him as the 11th qualified starter with an ERA of 1.70 or lower in the last 100 years. That's the 11th best ERA in the majors in the last century. 

Since the mound was lowered in 1969 he is just the third pitcher to have at least 30 starts, toss 210 innings & post a 1.70 ERA. Dwight Gooden posted a 1.53 ERA in 1985 with 276 innings, the other is Zack Greinke. 

At Citi Field he posted a 1.54 ERA & on the road his 1.87 ERA led all pitchers with at least 75 innings of work. In September he posted his third straight month of an ERA below two & his worst month of the year was June where he posted a 2.36 ERA.

He also set an MLB record, with the longest single season streak of starts (29 straight) where a pitcher allowed  three runs or less. Another record set was having his last 24 starts all being quality starts. It is also the third longest quality start streak in history.

He struck out 269 batters (second most in the NL). In Mets history, his 269 strikeouts were the fourth most ever for a Mets pitcher. His 11.157 strike outs per nine innings was also second best in the NL.

 His base on balls per 9 innings(1.908) was the leagues third best. He was also second with 217 innings pitched.

The two best single season strike out performances came from Tom Seaver who posted 289 Ks in 1971 & 283 in 1970. Next was Dwight Gooden's 276 Ks in 1985. 

In 2018 deGrom also reached the 1000th career strike out mark, making him the fastest Met to reach that milestone (897 innings).

deGrom had also allowed just 10 HRs & no more that one in any start of 2018. 

In the modern era, he is the only pitcher to post an ERA below 2.00 have 260+ Ks with 50 or fewer walks & allow 10 HRs or less.

Unfortunately he lacked run support from a terrible Mets offense. So with wins he just went 10-9, in a season where he led the NL with 13 starts in which a pitcher went at least seven innings & allowed no more than one run. In those starts he was credited with just five wins!

deGrom becomes the fourth Met pitcher to win a Cy Young Award & it's the sixth time a Met hurler has had the honor. Tom Seaver has three to his credit (1969-1973-1975), Dwight Gooden (1985) & R.A. Dickey (2012) the others.

No comments: